The first term for the Two Non Teaching member elected Trustees, Mr. B. D. Njuguna and Mr. Michael Adala expired on 6th September 2014. A vacancy was therefore declared by the Board for the two posts. The Board commissioned Mr. Fred Waswa (CEO Octagon Pension Services) and Ms. Rebecca Ngondo (UoN Chief Legal Officer) in the capacity of returning officers to facilitate the election process for member elected Trustees to represent the non-teaching staff. An election exercise was therefore held to elect other trustees in accordance with the existing Scheme rules.


The election process started on August 19 2014 with nominations, which closed on August 21 2014. The count and analysis of the nominations was conducted on August 22 2014. A total of seven (7) persons were nominated as listed below: -


  1. Ms. Grace Kiringa             406                             
  2. Mr. Michael Adala             242
  3. Mr. Bernard Njuguna         134
  4. Mr. Naftali Oyugi                36       
  5. Mr. John Wasike               32       
  6. Mr. Meshack Juma              3
  7. Mr. Michael Ogada               1


The top four (4) nominees were cleared to participate in the balloting stage and upon their consent their details were printed on the ballot paper. The balloting exercise was carried out between August 25 2014 and August 27 2014 when the ballots were counted from 2 p.m. in the Council Chamber in the presence of the candidates, their agents and other members of staff. The results were as follows: -


  1. Ms. Grace Kiringa            448                             
  2. Mr. Michael Adala            303
  3. Mr. Bernard Njuguna        128
  4. Mr. Naftali Oyugi               41       

Spoilt Votes                         18


A total of 938 ballots were cast out of a total of 1,535 eligible staff members of the scheme in the Non-Teaching category, this being an unprecedented 61% voter turnout. The following candidates had the highest votes.


  1. Ms. Grace Kiringa          448                             
  2. Mr. Michael Adala          303


The above named were therefore the duly elected Trustees to represent the Non-Teaching members of staff. The Board approved the election results. Thereafter the following would be done: -


  1. Report to the University Council for approval; and
  2. Report to the Retirement Benefits Authority for approval.
  3. Once the candidates are approved, the deed of appointment would be drawn.



See story in PDF